Queen For Seven Days (Korean Drama)


Viki has a new drama called QUEEN FOR SEVEN DAYS. The child actors were played by Baek Seung Hwan (age 19) and Park Si Eun (age 15). Such excellent actors for the first 4 episodes and this drama is off to a good start. For a few minutes of the first episode, I was almost put off by the meddlesome character Si Eun played. But the acting and the story quickly found its footing with me and I am hooked.


For a minute there, I was having MY SHY BOSS flash back where I thought the female lead came on too strong as to be distasteful.  I did end up liking that show after all. But this story is different. It is enjoyable.  You can get a good except of the show at Viki.com site.  I will probably add that here later on.  But right now, I just want to gush about finding another show to watch.

This scene towards the end of episode 3 should win these two an award of excellence.  The facial display of emotions on Seung Hwan’s face is pitch perfect.  I can feel his pain and caring despite his saying total opposite of what his face shows. If giving awards were up to me, I would have these two winning 2017’s supporting actors award of excellence for this scene alone.

My friend Bem R got me hooked to Korean drama with a Chinese drama called PRINCE OF LANG LING. I just finished taking the bar and I was taking time off from any work until after the results. I started that, and then followed it with Yi San and some other shows. I was hooked. It got me off snacking and eating, so I was shedding weight while watching the shows.  Later on, about a year into it, when Yoel died, it became therapy sessions where I could check out of my grief and just let the story take me wherever.  It does occur to me that I might not be dealing with my grief correctly.  However, I still hold a full time professional job and dealing with my remaining kids. Perhaps, it does not hurt. This works for me. For now.

Except from @katagramtime’s Instagram. 

Plot: Based on the tragic Joseon legend, this drama is about the love story between King Jung Jong(Yeon Woo Jin) and his Queen Dan Kyung(Park Min Young), who was crowned and deposed within the span of a week due to rival political factions that controlled the king’s rule. According to historical legend, after the queen was dethroned and removed from the palace, the king would walk to the outside royal pavilion every day and sigh as he gazed at a mountain in her direction. After hearing this, she placed a red skirt, her favorite to wear in the palace, on a rock on the mountain face so he would know that she was well and that she still yearned for him.

Leave a comment